Queyras et Schuldt : rencontre au sommet

Orchestre symphonique de Québec

Music knows no boundaries! Tonight, it makes us citizens of the world under the baton of our music director Clemens Schuldt, who comes to us from Germany, and Jean-Guihen Queyras, an artist associated with the Orchestra for this season. Three composers, including an Austrian and a Czech settled in the United States, headline this concert characterized by nomadic orchestral flights. The Intermezzo from Franz Schmidt's opera Notre-Dame opens the doors to the adaptation of Victor Hugo's great novel. The fervor and lyricism of his writing for strings beautifully introduce Dvořák's Cello Concerto, performed by Jean-Guihen Queyras. Dvořák's final concertante work highlights American themes as found in his New World Symphony.

Finally, we cross the Atlantic with Debussy's La Mer, conceived as a symphonic evocation: an entire marine world is suggested, culminating in a grand revelation of the ocean's depth. One thinks of Jules Verne's masterpiece, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea...

Clemens Schuldt: conductor

Jean-Guihen Queyras: cello


Schmidt: Intermezzo from Notre-Dame

Dvořák: Cello Concerto

Debussy: La Mer

Information about the event:
Phone: 418-643-8131
Toll-Free Phone: 1-877-523-3131
Go to Website

You'll Also Like

  • Pink Floyd : The Dark Side of the Moon
    Pink Floyd : The Dark Side of the Moon Immersive Experience
  • Natalie Tenenbaum
    Natalie Tenenbaum
  • Star Wars : Un nouvel espoir
    Star Wars : A New Hope in concert
  •  Geddy Lee
    Geddy Lee
  • La vie parisienne d'Offenbach
    La vie parisienne d'Offenbach
  • Supertramp Memories
    Supertramp Memories
  • La Pathétique de Tchaïkovski
    La Pathétique de Tchaïkovski
  • Céline Symphonique
    Céline Symphonique